Search for departments, programs, people and more...

News Archives

National Honor Society for Criminal Justice Majors Recognized

Publish Date: 12/11/2009

December 11, 2009

MANSFIELD, PA— Mansfield University is the home of the newest undergraduate chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the National Honor Society for Criminal Justice majors.

Seventeen students were inducted into Mansfield’s Lambda Zeta chapter at a ceremony held on December 3. (Front row

The students initiated are James Barrett, Daniel Bencsics, Ryan Calkins, Alyssa Ferguson, Russell Hack, Suzanna Jaworowsky, Danielle Kleckner, Monica Kneller, Terrell Lehman, Danny Moss, Kyle Rayburn, Zachary Perchinski, Jacob Sander, Amanda Sloat, Timothy VanDyke, Derek Warke and Christopher Zelko.

MU President Maravene Loeschke, J.P. Burke, dean of Education, Professional & Graduate Studies, and Scott Thornsley, department chair and chapter advisor, were present for the ceremony.

Alpha Phi Sigma is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and the only national honor society for criminal justice majors recognized by the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. To qualify for membership, undergraduate students must have a minimum GPA of 3.2 and rank in the top 35 percent of their class.

For more information on Alpha Phi Sigma, check online at

News Releases by Year

2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006  

Recent News Releases

Release Date Title
5/2/2013 Respiratory Therapy Program Receives Honor
5/2/2013 Outstanding Seniors Honor Mentors
5/1/2013 Biology Students Excel at State Meeting
5/1/2013 Maren Hess named Director of Assessment
5/1/2013 Social Work Students Connect with Individuals with Special Needs
4/29/2013 MU Mourns the Passing of Vernon Lapps
4/29/2013 Concert Choir to perform May 4
4/26/2013 Jazz Ensemble to perform May 3
4/25/2013 Jacqueline Smith Reaches Semi-finals of PASSHE Business Competition
4/24/2013 World Premiere to Highlight Saxophone Recital