News Archives

News Archives

Students Honored for Achievements and Service

Publish Date: 4/8/2009

April 8, 2009

MANSFIELD, PA— Mansfield University’s 20th annual Student Affairs Outstanding Student Awards Banquet was held in North Manser Dining Hall on Mo2009 Student Affairs Student affairs Outstanding Student Awards Banquetnday, April 6.

The celebration honors students for their service and achievements and recognizes the time and effort put forth by the various advisors to the many student organizations on campus.

Thirty-four were nominated and each received a certificate of merit.

They are Morgan Anthony, Kay Barrett, Meredith Bennett, Kira Brock, Liz Burnett, Samantha Dumas, Kristopher Dumschat, Andrew Dutko, Amanda Edner, Mark Ewing, Christin Galluccio, Shelley Giles , Alyssa Greenwalt, Alexandra Hoenig, Krista Hutcherson, Elizabeth Kenny, Christina Learned, Jennifer Lewis, Jessica Lohmann, Whitney McKnight, Leeann Meier, Danelle Miller, Cara Moyer, Michelle Polczynski, Mar(L-R) Campus Ministers Deb Casey and Courtney Hull honor Anne Lavancher for her support of the Santa’s Gift Bag project.ia Reich, Kevin Richardson, Ashley Rogers, Tammy Kay Schmidt, Andrew Shaal, Lucas Snyder, Mary Sooy, Christian Spangenberg, Rebecca Sullivan and Thomas Walker.

MU also had 26 students inducted into Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Morgan Anthony, Terry Babb, Jessica Brown, Jaimie Bullen, Laura Carden, Cory Doubrava, Kelly Eckard, Alyssa Ferguson, Joshua Fish, Kara Fultz, Darnelle Gillot, Steven Hakes II, Raya Hansen, Emily Horwat, Jennifer Lewis, Elizabeth Lloyd, Denise McNeal, Cara Moyer, Lindsey Musser, Lori Nace, Elizabeth Paisley, Sandra Plume, Nikkie Sassano, Peter Staudenmeier, Jaron Van Ord and Darren Wood are this year’s inductees.

Campus nominating committees submit students names based on their academic achievement, service to community, leadership in curricular activities and potential for continued success. They join an elite group of students selected from more than 1,400 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations.

Awards of appreciation were given to the three outgoing officers of Student Government Association (SGA) and the Committee on Associate Vice President for Student Affairs Jim Harrington (center) honors Bob and Yvonne Maris for their dedication and service.Finance (COF). Tessa Bieber, COF chair for fall 2008, Rebekah Brown, COF chair for spring 2009, and Shantee Proctor, SGA president for 2008-09, were honored.

Also at the banquet, the Office of Community Service recognized Anne Lavancher and her family for their outstanding service to the annual Santa's Gift Bag project.

The Student Affairs Division recognized Bob and Yvonne Maris for their dedication and service to the division throughout the years.

In addition, 13 awards in various categories were presented to the Greek Community and the 2009 Men of Strength and Women of Power were announced.

News Releases by Year

2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006  

Recent News Releases

Release Date Title
5/2/2013 Respiratory Therapy Program Receives Honor
5/2/2013 Outstanding Seniors Honor Mentors
5/1/2013 Biology Students Excel at State Meeting
5/1/2013 Maren Hess named Director of Assessment
5/1/2013 Social Work Students Connect with Individuals with Special Needs
4/29/2013 MU Mourns the Passing of Vernon Lapps
4/29/2013 Concert Choir to perform May 4
4/26/2013 Jazz Ensemble to perform May 3
4/25/2013 Jacqueline Smith Reaches Semi-finals of PASSHE Business Competition
4/24/2013 World Premiere to Highlight Saxophone Recital