News Archives

News Archives

Students Honored for Achievements & Service

Publish Date: 4/13/2010

April 13, 2010

MANSFIELD, PA— Mansfield University’s annual Student Affairs Outstanding Student Awards Banquet was held inThe students honored for their service and achievements with Aaron Hackman, Coordinator of Greek Life, Civic Service & Community Engagement (front row, far right) North Manser Dining Hall on Monday, April 5.

The celebration honors students for their service and achievements and recognizes the time and effort put forth by the various advisors to the many student organizations on campus.

Twenty seven were nominated and each received a certificate of merit.

They are Jeremy Bean, Chantal Bouazo, Tiffany Collins, Amanda Chunko, Michelle Dragowetz, Kris Dumschat, Christin Galluccio, Rebecca Hazen (two nominations), Alexandra Hoenig, Krista Hutcherson, Tammy Kessing, Tyler Morse, Tessa Minnich, Ashley Mulhollem, Christopher Neal, Amber Opperman, Elizabeth Phillippy, Timothy Prothero, Jaclyn Rhodes, Anthony Michael Root, Megan Ruby, Kellie Schuster, Courtney Swendsen, Clifford Torpy, Kelly-Ann Vaccaro and Anna Wales.

2010 Who's Who in American Universities and Colleges inductees.MU also had 36 students inducted into Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Jessica Allyn, Tegan Atallah, Margaret Barber, Marissa Bertram, Angela Cochran, Larry Collins, Samantha Dumas, Brenae Edwards, Miki Endo, Nicole Frisbie, Jonathan Fuller, Allyce Hendershot, Angela Johnson, Jonah Klixbull, Jessica Lohmann, Kaylee Marchesani, Naomi Martz, Whitney Nudd, Rhiannon Patterson, Tiffany Pheasant, Irene Primmer, Jocelyn Raychel, Jaclyn Rhodes, Ashley Rogers, Nathan Smouse, Robin Sustak, Courtney Swendsen, Cody Tasker, Kelly-Ann Vaccaro, Ashley Valentine, Kelly VanNote, Samantha VanZile, Abigail Waltz, Samantha Wolf, Tammy Woolgar and Natalie Young are this year’s inductees.

Campus nominating committees submit students names based on their academic achievement, service to community, leadership in curricular activities and potential for continued success. They join an elite group of students selected from more than 1,400 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations.

Courtney Hull (right) presents fellow Campus Minister Deborah Casey with an award for her dedication and service.Awards of appreciation were given to outgoing Student Government Association (SGA) President Ralph Slyster, Committee on Finance (COF) Chair Kris Dumschat and Jennifer Lewis, graduate assistant for Community Service.

Also at the banquet, the Office of Community Service recognized the Reverend Deborah Casey for almost two decades of service to Mansfield University and presented Cedarcrest Hall with an award for outstanding service to the annual Santa's Gift Bag project.MU President Maravene Loeschke (left) and Associate Vice President for Student Affairs Jim Harrington (right) present Barb Morgan with a lifetime achievement award.

The Student Affairs Division recognized Director of Financial Planning Chris Vaughn for his dedication and service to the division throughout the years with the Developing Tomorrow’s Leaders award. Barb Morgan, administrative assistant of the Office of Student Affairs, was presented with a lifetime achievement award for her 24 years of dedicated service to Mansfield and its students.

In addition, 11 awards in various categories were presented to the Greek Community.

News Releases by Year

2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006  

Recent News Releases

Release Date Title
5/2/2013 Respiratory Therapy Program Receives Honor
5/2/2013 Outstanding Seniors Honor Mentors
5/1/2013 Biology Students Excel at State Meeting
5/1/2013 Maren Hess named Director of Assessment
5/1/2013 Social Work Students Connect with Individuals with Special Needs
4/29/2013 MU Mourns the Passing of Vernon Lapps
4/29/2013 Concert Choir to perform May 4
4/26/2013 Jazz Ensemble to perform May 3
4/25/2013 Jacqueline Smith Reaches Semi-finals of PASSHE Business Competition
4/24/2013 World Premiere to Highlight Saxophone Recital