News Archives

News Archives

Students Honored for Service

Publish Date: 6/3/2008

April 23, 2008

MANSFIELD, PA (4/23/08) - Mansfield University’s 19th annual Student Affairs Outstanding Student Service Awards Banquet was held in North Manser Dining Hall on Monday, April 21.

The celebration honors students for their service to the more than 100 campus student organizations and also honors the advisors to those groups.

Twenty-nine students were nominated and each received a certificate of merit.

They are Sarah Bianco, Keisha-Marie Diaspe, Marisa Fronczkiewicz, Colleen Gabriel, Michelle Giles, Sara Hanyen (nominated twice), Whitney Honey, Krista Hutcherson, Jequaii Jones, Stefan June, Lynne Leskovec, Belinda Martz, Ashley Moser, Kara Newcomer, Sandra Pardoe, Chris Phifer, Dan Ryan, Samantha Sanko, Maria Schafer, Laura Shutts, Marisa Szynal, Amber Wade, Anna Wales (nominated twice), Ashly Weidner, Carla White, Faith Willson and Ron Wise.

MU also had 29 students inducted into Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Stacey Allesch, Kaela Appleman, Amber Badeau, Norman Beers, Eugenia Bond, Randy Brewer, Katrina Brumfield, Jaclyn DeBlon, Dane Denmon, Kara Eberlin, Jennifer Fields, Kelly Fitzsimmons, Amy Frazer, Marisa Fronczkiewicz, April Ganong, Christopher Greene, Sara Hanyen, Armen Henderson, Beth Ann Keck, James Kelly, Hiwot Ketema, Nicole Kilbourn, Samantha Kushner, Kaytlen Robinson, Joy Sampson, Jill Scott, Mary Sooy, Juliann Stephenson and Danielle Timon are this year’s inductees.

Campus nominating committees submit students names based on their academic achievement, service to community, leadership in curricular activities and potential for continued success. They join an elite group of students selected from more than 1,400 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations.

Awards of appreciation were given to the three outgoing officers of Student Government Association (SGA) and the Committee on Finance (COF). Corey Tarreto, COF chair for fall 2007, Marisa Szynal, SGA president for fall 2007 and COF chair for spring 2008, and Michael Conaway, SGA president for spring 2008, were honored.

Also at the banquet, the Office of Community Service recognized Joe and Maryann Maresco for their outstanding service to the annual Santa's Gift Bag project.

The Student Affairs Division recognized interim Dean of Faculty Peter Keller for his dedication and service to the division throughout the year.

The event was sponsored by the MU Campus Bookstore.


Student Service Awards

The MU students honored for their service to campus student organizations at the annual Student Life and Leadership Outstanding Student Service Awards Banquet with Director of Student Activities Clarence Crisp (back left).

08 Student Service Awards

MU students who were inducted into Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges and Robert Maris (back left), who oversees the nomination program.

Joe Miller

Music major Joe Miller provided entertainment for the banquet.

News Releases by Year

2013   2012   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006  

Recent News Releases

Release Date Title
5/2/2013 Respiratory Therapy Program Receives Honor
5/2/2013 Outstanding Seniors Honor Mentors
5/1/2013 Biology Students Excel at State Meeting
5/1/2013 Maren Hess named Director of Assessment
5/1/2013 Social Work Students Connect with Individuals with Special Needs
4/29/2013 MU Mourns the Passing of Vernon Lapps
4/29/2013 Concert Choir to perform May 4
4/26/2013 Jazz Ensemble to perform May 3
4/25/2013 Jacqueline Smith Reaches Semi-finals of PASSHE Business Competition
4/24/2013 World Premiere to Highlight Saxophone Recital